The European University Institute (www.eui.eu) is an international postgraduate and post-doctoral teaching and research institute established by European Union member states to contribute to cultural and scientific development in economics, social sciences, history and law, from a European perspective. Nearly a hundred EUI researchers express their solidarity with the Greek people supporting a ‘NO’ vote in Sunday’s referendum through the letter below:

We, researchers of the European University Institute, feel the urge and the duty to express our full-hearted solidarity with the Greek people, who, for five years now, have been suffering the dramatic consequences of the austerity policies imposed by the Troika, and how are now struggling for the right to decide upon their own future.

We defend the right of the Greek people to freely express its will, and we support a ‘NO’ vote in Sunday’s referendum in Greece.

It is well known by now that the bailout programs and austerity measures have led the country into a deep recession, shrinking the economy, hugely increasing unemployment, and causing 3 million people to fall into poverty. Following the irresponsible suggestions of extremist ideologues, banks have been saved and the burden of adjustment has been shoved onto the shoulders of the people. After five years of austerity, Greece is sinking even deeper into debt than it was at the start of the crisis in 2010, notwithstanding the enormous sacrifices made by its people. The failure of austerity policies in resolving the Greek crisis has to be acknowledged, and a new path for the future has to be chosen.

The new austerity measures that the Greek government was urged to sign do not constitute sensible fiscal or economic policy but rather a form of blackmail, by Eurozone governments and the ECB, to undermine the will of a sovereign people. Greek citizens are being forced to accept policies that they know to be wrong, under the threat that the EU would turn its back on them. This constitutes a betrayal of the founding principles of the European Union.

The choice, in Sunday’s referendum, is neither about the euro nor about the Greek government. It is a choice between austerity and democracy in the whole of the European Union. A choice between fear and hope. As researchers in economics, social sciences and the humanities, we have to stand with democracy and to defend the right to hope of the European peoples. The European Union can be saved only if it becomes a space of solidarity and progress, rather than one of punishment and subjugation. What is at stake is the future of the whole continent, and we cannot look the other way.

As researchers, committed to knowledge and public interest, we have to take a stand. We can no longer contribute to the reproduction of policies and mentalities of fear. We cannot accept the widening of inequality and the deepening of irrationality as common sense within the EU. We know that the perpetuation of austerity policies will only cause further suffering to the Greek people and thwart any possibility of an economic recovery. We defend the opportunity given to the Greek people to decide on its own future, and we offer our full solidarity and active cooperation to with them in these difficult moments.

We hope that the ‘NO’ vote in Sunday’s referendum will be a step towards the construction of a new Europe — one based on democracy, social justice and human rights.



1          Adams Zoe Louise

2          Aitchison Guy

3          Alaattinoglu Daniela

4          Albanese Matteo

5          Alcalde Javier

6          Alonso Francisco

7          Altiparmakis Argyrios

8          Andry Aurélie

9          Antoniou Myrssini

10        Arigho-Stiles Olivia

11        Atak Kivanc

12        Bartolini Laura

13        Béal Margot

14        Benfante Fillipo

15        Bosi Lorenzo

16        Brais Alvarez Pereira

17        Breki Stella

18        Bruinsma Jelle

19        Buhin Anita

20        Calossi Enrico

21        Cappelli Gabriele

22        Castelli Pietro

23        Chironi Daniela

24        Chng NaiRui

25        Cini Lorenzo

26        Dalachanis Angelos

27        Daly Angela

28        Davis Donagh

29        De Bock Jozefien

30        Della Porta Donatella

31        Drapalova Eliska

32        Efthimiou Dimitrios

33        Eleftheriadis Konstantinos

34        Felicetti Andrea

35        Fernandes Tiago

36        Fernández Joseba

37        Froio Caterina

38        Gilardin Remi

39        Gilbert Rosa

40        Giordani Tommaso

41        Haberstroh Charlotte

42        Hall Bogumilla

43        Hancox Emily

44        Hannah Elsisi

45        Hansson John-Erik

46        HergadenMalte

47        Insset Morris Ola

48        Jensen Helge Hiram

49        JohanneKuebler

50        Kandyla Anna

51        Kouki Hara

52        Krüger Alexander Lukas

53        Lacey Joseph

54        Landais Guillaume

55        Lappa Daphne

56        Leal Hugo

57        Lorenzini Jasmine

58        Malamidis Haris

59        Marchetti Sabrina

60        Markatos Kimon

61        Marketou Afroditi-Ioanna

62        Matos Tiago Manuel

63        Mattoni Alice

64        Mazzamauro Alfredo

65        McDonagh Patrick James

66        McGeehan Nicholas

67        Mchugh Liam

68        Michel Elie

69        Morisi Davide

70        Nyhan Emma

71        Ó HaisíDonal

72        Oikonomakis Leonidas

73        Reinisch Dieter

74        Richardson Noelle

75        Rone Julia

76        Roos Jerome

77        Ruiz Soler Javier

78        Schulz Jan

79        SemihÇelik

80        Serra Coelho Miguel

81        Souvlis George

82        Stasi Maria Luisa

83        Stefanovski Ivan

84        Subirats Ribas Anna

85        Suzan Meryem Rosita

86        Vianello Ilaria

87        Vidal Guillem

88        Vidales Felipe

89        Vogiatzoglou Markos

90        Wagner Florian

91        Weisskircher Manès

92        Xanthopoulou-DimitriadouParthena

93        YounisMusab

94        Zamponi Lorenzo

95        Zhuravlev Oleg

96        Zver Uros


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s